Welcome to the Official Website County Assembly of Samburu

May 7th, 2021



Today's News:
Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry.
Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry.


County Assemblies are derived from devolved county governments from the national government. Hence they should not be confused with the defunct county councils of Kenya, the counties of Kenya are geographical units envisioned by the 2010 Constitution of Kenya as the units of devolved government. The powers are provided in Articles 191 and 192, and in the Fourth Schedule of the Constitution of Kenya and the County Governments Act of 2012.

The counties are also single-member constituencies for the election of members of parliament to the Senate of Kenya and special women members of parliament to the National Assembly of Kenya. As of the 2013 general elections, there are 47 counties whose size and boundaries are based on the 47 legally recognized Districts of Kenya.

The first Samburu County Assembly was constituted on the swearing-in ceremony of 22nd March 2013, with the elected members presided by Justice Hatari of Milimani Law Courts and the Senior Magistrate of Navaisha and Interim Clerk of the County Assembly, Mr. Patrick Leshore.

On the same date the Hon. Speaker, Steve Lelegwe was elected on a majority vote, sworn and presided over by the same. On the same date, the deputy speaker was also elected and sworn in as Hon. Adamson Lanyasunya.

Eleven (11) more nominated members were sworn in on 27th July 2013 by the Hon. Speaker. The house constituted of 26 members, of which 9 were women that made the assembly meet the constitutional gender requirements.

The Gazzeted County Assembly offices are the defunct Local Samburu County Council Offices. The County Assembly restructured itself to have ten(10) Sectorial Committees and ten (10) house committees. The house had the majority leader as Hon. F.D Lolosoli and Minority Leader as Hon. Romanos Leakono. The Majority Whip was Hon. B. Leitore while the Minority Whip was Hon. L. Lorunyei. The Speaker’s Panel Members were Hon. Speaker Steve Lelegwe, Hon R. Letura, Hon. P. Lobuk and Hon. A Lanyasunya.

Samburu County Statistics

  • Surface Area
    Surface Area

    21,000 kmsq

  • Population

    224,000 Residents

  • Population Density
    Population Density

    11 persons per kmsq

  • Investments

    Ksh 100 Billion

Contact Us

Address: County Assembly of Samburu,
Postal: P.O. Box 3 - 20600 Maralal, Kenya.
Phone: +254 065 62456, +254 65 62075
Copyright © 2021 Samburu County Assembly. All Rights Reserved.
Joomla! is Free Software released under the GNU General Public License.